Google+ SpaceTravelFoundation: Launch of the Japanese supply spaceship to ISS today

August 19, 2015

Launch of the Japanese supply spaceship to ISS today

Dear readers and followers,


Japan will launch its robotic HTV-5 cargo vessel toward the International Space Station on Wednesday morning, August 19th at 7:50 a.m. EDT (1150 GMT). You can watch the liftoff live in the window below, courtesy of NASA TV. Coverage begins at 7 a.m. EDT (1100 GMT). If all goes according to plan, HTV-5 will arrive at the space station next Monday morning, August 24th 2015.




The HTV is one of four robotic spacecraft that currently resupply the space station, along with Russia's Progress freighter and the Dragon and Cygnus vehicles, which are built by American companies SpaceX and Orbital ATK, respectively. The HTV, Progress and Cygnus are designed to burn up in Earth's atmosphere at the end of their cargo missions, while Dragon makes a parachute-aided splashdown in the ocean when its time in space is done.

Remember that this blog is free, but you can support us with Flattr


Stay tuned